I HAVE A NEW TOY

Leave a comment

5 March, 2013 by shortcaked

Guys, I bought a DSLR and I can’t even put the strap on it without a YouTube instruction video.  I’m going to need all kinds of help from Obi-Wan for this shit.

Shameless ploy to put Ewan McGregor in this post? Not at all.

That’s right.  I caved.  I am now part of the DSLR movement.

He still needs a name, but we're working on that.  I'm thinking Parker or Bugboy.  We'll see.

He still needs a name, but we’re working on that. I’m thinking Parker or Bugboy. We’ll see.

I’ve been looking at this camera for a long, long time and I figured EH.  Why not treat myself to an early-graduation/early birthday present. The timing on ordering it was super sweet; if I’d ordered it a day before, I would have paid $400.  And if I’d ordered it literally hours after I had, I’d have paid $430.  As it is I paid around $375 and I am totally okay with that.  Plus, the magic of Amazon had it here literally the day after I ordered it. Thanks for having my back, guys!  Totally fine with paying tax on your shit if you keep up these kinds of antics.

Okay whatever you really don’t care about my super sweet order-timing-skills, I know.  You want to hear me gush about my Brand Spaking New Canon T3 Digital Rebel, and more importantly see the droolworthy pictures it takes. Or maybe just listen to me ramble about how I now get to/have to learn how to use a DSLR, because to be quite frank I am one of those people who bought one and does not have a freaking clue.

Hey: I need things to learn now that I’m not in school.  This will be Course 1.

I’ve been the ultimate internet creep over the past week reading all kinds of stuff that other successful drool-worthy picture-takers have had to say about getting to know your new DSLR (which sounds like an after school special) and forcing myself to use the super scary manual mode.

(Which is a lie.  I’m using the aperture priority mode.  It’s not quite as frightening, but it’s totally possible I’m just doing it wrong and everything is super fucking terrifying and I just don’t know it.  I say again GET YOUR ASS OVER HERE AND HELP ME, KENOBI.)

I’m pretty jazzed with the results so far, though.  All the pictures of the peanut butter and jelly scones (which made their final farewell early this week, they’ll be missed) were DSLR snaps and the second I got them on the computer I was floored by the clarity.

Unfortunately I don’t have any new snaps to share, because I’ve had a super busy Sunday night-Monday combo breaker.  But I’m hoping I’ll get more time to play this weekend and I can come up with a massive picture dump before too long so I can gloat about my fancy.

Just kidding. No gloating.

IN OTHER NEWS of things I caved about: I now have a Facebook page!  So you can stay gratuitously updated, if that’s your thing.  Check out the (admittedly very little) that’s going on there, and like if you like!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Get email updates when new content is posted!

Goodreads

ginger, lemon & spice

discovering culture & food of the world

Top of the Guac

Sharing my love of avocados, nyc, and all of it's crazy residents

Of All Tastes

A cooking journey, one recipe at a time

theinfinitedesireforwandercrust

Inner monologue of a girl and her never ending envy of Anthony Bourdain's lifestyle and career.

My So Called Foodie Life

All things food, with a dash of opinion, a pinch of photography and a sprinkle of life...

At Home With Love

Discovering the joy in making a home, nurturing my family and living life intentionally.

living in a book and out of a suitcase

Just another WordPress.com site

radmagiclove

Just another WordPress.com site

Pennies on the Run

Living Fit and Fabulous on a Tight Budget

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free & Paleo-friendly recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines. New recipes every Tuesday.

Life of Sporky

Australian Carer, Traveller, Foodie and Mental Health Advocate.

Papaya Pieces

homemade cooking + reflections

Overtime Cook

...because most of us don't have all day to spend in the kitchen!

Onions and Chocolate

There are few ingredients that don't mix well with one or the other

bakearama

Wannabe baker extraordinare

Homemade Delish

With creativity and imagination you can style anything to your taste

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

